jump to navigation

Members of new Unity, Faith and Order committee named: CEN 7.10.09 July 16, 2009

Posted by geoconger in Anglican Consultative Council, Church of England Newspaper.
The roster for the Inter-Anglican Standing Committee for Unity, Faith and Order (IASCUFO) has been named by Lambeth Palace. The new committee, under the chairmanship of the Primate of Burundi, Archbishop Bernard Ntahoturi has been tasked by Dr Rowan Williams to promote the “deepening of Communion” with other ecclesial entities and offer advice on questions of “faith and order”.

IASCUFO carries on the work of IASCER and IATDC—the Inter-Anglican Standing Commission on Ecumenical Relations and the Inter-Anglican Theological and Doctrinal Commission.

Members of the super commission, include: Bishop Titre Ande of Aru in the Congo, Archdeacon Dapo Asaju of Lagos State University, Nigeria, Dr. Paul Avis of the Church of England, Bishop Philip Baji of Tanga, Tanzania, Dr. Alyson Barnett-Cowan of the Anglican Church of Canada, Dr John Gibaut of the World Council of Churches, Bishop Howard Gregory of Montego Bay, West Indies, Dr Katherine Grieb of the Virginia Theological Seminary, Canon Clement Janda of the Episcopal Church of the Sudan, Dr Edison Muhindo Kalengyo of Uganda Christian University, Bishop Victoria Matthews of Christchurch, New Zealand, Dr Charlotte Methuen of Oxford University, Dr Simon Oliver of the University of Nottingham, Bishop Stephen Pickard, the Assistant Bishop of Adelaide, Dr Andrew Pierce of the Irish School of Ecumenics, Dr Michael Nai Chiu Poon of Trinity Theological College, Singapore, The Rev Sarah Rowland Jones of the Anglican Church of Southern Africa, Dr Jeremiah Yang of Sheng Gong Hui University, Korea and Bishop Tito Zavala of Chile.

An initiative first suggested by the Windsor Continuation Group and brought to the 2008 Lambeth Conference, the first meeting for the new super committee will be in December in Canterbury. However, funding for the committee and its work remains precarious.

Read it all in The Church of England Newspaper.

Members of new Unity, Faith and Order committee named
%d bloggers like this: